Ohana Surf Project Reviews

We are pretty good at what we do. I guess it’s because surfing is where all of our instructors’ passions lie. Our instructors are involved in various sports, but surfing… it lives in our souls. We love what we do, and that’s what makes us awesome!You don’t have to take our word for it.  Check out our reviews and you will understand what we mean.



Epi Reefer
Epi Reefer
07:32 26 Aug 19
One of the best experiences I had in Hawai'i. Awesome people, literally cool as ice. ?? Kevin, Allana, the other guys and gals were so helpful.
Michael Corpus
Michael Corpus
22:39 19 Aug 19
This was an AMAZING experience. Not only did I have a GREAT time, but it was so much better because of Kevin and all of his help. He was very patient and knows how to teach you like you are a beginner. My whole experience with the whole Ohana Surf Project was awesome. With no doubt I would DEFINITLEY recommend Ohana Surf Project.
Lara@ActionAid
Lara@ActionAid
08:04 23 Jul 19
Highly recommend Ohana Surf Project. We booked the semi private lesson and absolutely no regrets. Our instructor Lani was super friendly, knowledgeable and so supportive. She tailored her teaching to suit us both and we had so much fun - caught loads of waves and had something to work on each wave to improve our ride. These guys take safety appropriately seriously and had a lot of staff/ instructors on the water to make sure everything ran smoothly. Loved having Dani taking videos out on the water and another professional photographer on land to capture each ride. Worth every dollar in our opinion. Many mahalos OSP
Alistair Young
Alistair Young
12:44 30 Jun 19
Everyone I dealt with was very nice (Kelly on phone, Chad in van from Marriott, Jenna the instructor), Jenna seemed to do a good job as instructor, but maybe the overall value was not there for us.I paid $277 for a 2hr semi-private lesson for my 2 boys. I also tipped $40 ($20 for each boy). However, for the most part my boys were really just part of the main group lesson - they warmed up and went out with the group, caught the same waves as the group, came in with the group, then reviewed all the photos of everyone in the group. They had a dedicated instructor for tuition, I'm just not convinced this made much difference to their surfing. At the end, some of the 'group' folks were signing up for another group lesson ($80+tax) while we'd spent our budget and were done.It's a little frustrating to pay twice as much as the others (I did not see any of them tipping), but then walk away with very similar experience. Maybe they could have thrown in a few photos/videos to make paying the extra worthwhile … or something. Instead, I would just have to say the folks in the group lesson made better use of their money. And you should too.
avas oopsies
avas oopsies
23:15 29 Jun 19
our instructor chelsea was very nice while also providing very helpful tips.
Beth Mullen
Beth Mullen
02:00 16 Jun 19
My son just asked if I could give Kevin a 5 star review, so that's what I am doing. Kevin spent 2 hours with my 9 year old and was an awesome teacher. My son says that learning to surf was the absolute highlight of his trip to Hawaii. We also opted to purchase all of the pictures and videos for $50. They typically go so far out that you can't take pictures of your own, so you'll definitely need this package. We absolutely recommend Ohana Surf Project! Thank you for making my son's trip so memorable. We will be getting another private surf lesson through Ohana Surf Project when we return to Oahu!!!
Samantha Nier
Samantha Nier
01:16 16 May 19
Our instructor, Kevin, was the very best. Kevin was able to accommodate our wide range of skill levels. The rest of the crew was so kind and helpful.
Jesse Lane
Jesse Lane
05:57 05 May 19
The team at Ohana Surf Project was incredible. They were fun, patient and great instructors. I had a blast surfing, and my first surf experience exceeded expectations. ??? OSP was professional, safe, and took great photos and videos of all of us on our group.I highly recommend these guys!
William Hester
William Hester
03:55 29 Mar 19
My girlfriend and I took a surfing lesson. The staff was awesome! They were really encouraging and friendly.
Jimmy Tanghongs
Jimmy Tanghongs
04:06 24 Mar 19
Great group! First time surfing, was up on the third try. Thanks Troy, Danny, and Lani!
Todd Peterson
Todd Peterson
01:27 25 Feb 19
What a GREAT kick a$$ experience! I would like to thank Matt and the entire staff for helping me check off a bucket list item. I would highly recommend Ohana Surf Project to anyone no matter what their skill level or age is. I’m 53 and they even got me up on a board! Better than that, they teach about waves, water, and respect the environment that they are in. Surfing right under Diamond Head...well... what else does anyone need. Spectacular! Do yourself and your soul a favor, just do it! Mahalo!!!
Chris Ferretti
Chris Ferretti
02:14 31 Jan 19
My wife and I were in Oahu on on honeymoon and worked with Chelsea and Keyola of Ohana Surf Project and we had a blast!!Such good instructors, knowledgeable and caring - both my wife and I who never surfed before were able to get up on our boards a couple of times!! I couldn’t believe it! Never in a million years did I ever think I could ever surf - what an exhilarating feeling! I am totally hooked and plan to continue surfing lessons back in NYC (once the weather rises above 7 friggin’ degrees?).But all in all, I can’t say enough nice things about our instructors Chelsea and Keyalo. So nice and encouraging. If you’re in Oahu and looking for awesome and affordable surf instructors look no further than Ohana Surf Project AAAAA++++????????
stephane P
stephane P
23:08 03 Jan 19
First time surfing and chose these guys. Was very easy to book the day before and instructions were very clear to get there. We had Matt as an instructor and he was probably the best instructor we could have hoped to have for a first time but honestly the whole team was so fun, great at providing tips/instruction, and was very supportive.Thanks guys for making this a great experience! Highlight of the trip to Hawaii for sure.
Adam Thomas
Adam Thomas
05:29 08 Oct 18
Chelsea was our instructor and was fantastic. My daughter and I had a great morning surfing for the first time. Would highly recommend this to others looking to try out surfing
Jenny Lauridsen
Jenny Lauridsen
04:03 23 Sep 18
Super professional.Focus on safety.Awesome instructors , fun and friendly
James Styles
James Styles
00:37 27 Aug 18
My partner and I had a wonderful time surfing (our first time ever) on Waikiki beach with Ohana Surf Project and I'd strongly recommend them to anyone wanting to give it a go.Chelsea was our surf coach, she was very professional, clearly very experienced and a fantastic teacher. She give specific feedback to each member of our small group helping us all to successfully stand up on the waves. Take the time to look at the photos and videos when you get out ours were really great! Beautiful location.
Silvia I. Moreno
Silvia I. Moreno
07:21 18 Jul 18
Our family had the privilege of experiencing surfboard lessons with this particular company and the experience was fun and totally professional. Everyone had a great time.Plenty of instructions to prepare you for the lesson. And after your time in the water the instructor also had the opportunity to give you some critiques on how to improve. It was amazing to see photos and videos afterwards.Thanks for the great Hawaiian hospitality.
Kate Klavon
Kate Klavon
16:53 31 Mar 18
I was very impressed with Ohana Surf Project. They were all very friendly and helpful in teaching me how to surf. The instructors make sure you stay safe so you can just enjoy surfing! This is my favorite thing I did on my trip.
Joe DeStefano
Joe DeStefano
03:28 08 Dec 17
Surfing with these guys is always the best. I've been surfing with them for many years now and Sean has become my mentor. He brings his level up method of teaching to provide you with instruction and techniques you need improve on your surfing. No matter who you take a lesson with, (I've had many instructors through the years), from beginner to advanced levels, you will feel safe in the ocean, be encouraged to catch all the waves you can, get instruction, and friendly coaching first hand from pre to post surf session. All this and the welcome you as a part of their surfing "ohana" makes them hands down the best out there! Look for the surf bus, you won't be disappointed and you won't find a better group of qualified, friendly and helpful surf instructors in Waikiki or on Oahu's south shore! Can't wait to get back the water with you soon.Thank you so much for everything!
Kelsi Thorne
Kelsi Thorne
05:42 10 Aug 17
Probably some of the coolest people you will ever meet. The best surfing experience. I had two lessons, but probably could have surfed on my own after one. Really reasonable pricing, and will even pick up from most hotels in the region. Will be recommending these guys to everyone I know visiting Oahu.
Alisha Hunter
Alisha Hunter
07:07 04 Aug 17
Hands down the best experience I've had in Hawaii so far! Would highly recommend! The instructor to surfer ratio is so comforting and they take you out of the hustle and bustle of the main beach in Waikiki! Thank you guys so much!
Aliyah Reid
Aliyah Reid
18:59 02 May 17
The Ohana Surf Project crew is simply awesome and really make you part of their Ohana. We have traveled and surfed in many places around the world and they are by far the best crew we have ever surfed with. The crew emphasizes the importance of safety yet, gives you positive and reassuring vibes to feel comfortable in the water and CATCH WAVES. Chelsea and Sean, we can't wait to surf with you guys again! Mahalo!
Farrah Moore
Farrah Moore
21:06 21 Mar 17
Really awesome experience. The crew, especially Nick, are really nice! My husband also got to surf with Shaun, the pro surfer. The whole crew is very professional. They also offer some great advice for other cool things to do around the island. We'll definitely book with them again. Mahalo!
Alanna Kriz
Alanna Kriz
17:19 13 Feb 17
Best group of instructors in Waikiki! I had the pleasure of spending 2 summers working in Hawaii. I worked closely with Chelsea, Sean, Nick and James. They all are so passionate about surfing and it really shows up in their lessons. With friendly, outgoing personalities, you will spend the lesson with a smile on your face. They have years of experience and know exactly how to get anybody on their feet in just one lesson, it is truly amazing. They also know the surf conditions and safety is their number one priority. If you are in Waikiki, and have any interest in surfing, whether you are a beginner or an experienced surfer, I definitely recommend surfing with Ohana Surf Project.
Ian Clark
Ian Clark
04:25 01 Feb 17
During my last visit to Oahu, I asked a few of my resident friends where a good place would be to get surf lessons and several told me to check out Ohana Surf Project. I had some experience as a teenager but definitely was in need of a refresher - I tried an initial lesson on the second day of my trip and went out several more times after such a positive first time experience. Every trainer I went out with was incredibly helpful and knowledgable and created a safe fun environment.
Shannon Dee
Shannon Dee
03:08 01 Feb 17
Ohana Surf Project is the best surf school in Hawaii! I had the best experience with these guys. They really treat you like family there. I am a beginner surfer and was nervous on a board but they made me feel super comfortable! I'm so thankful I found these guys, they made my trip to Hawaii extra special.
Charla Lewis
Charla Lewis
18:44 31 Jan 17
I had the best surfing experience with this crew! They were all so helpful with picking us up, giving us basic land lessons and then even helping us paddle out when my arms gave out! We had an awesome time and would highly recommend this great crew! We went back for more and did both stand up paddle board and body boarding! That was a blast!!! Thank you for adding to the adventure of our visit and we will be back soon!
See All Reviews


Ohana Surf Project
5.0
Based on 57 Reviews
Tonya R.
Tonya R.
2018-03-15 18:32:26
This was my second time surfing, and I was quite nervous. I injured my knee the first time. What helped me to relax was Chelsea's thorough knowledge of how...
Paul L.
Paul L.
2018-03-15 00:10:39
Big mahalo to the crew at Ohana Surf Project! Matt and Chelsea were such awesome surf instructors. I was a bit nervous at first because it was my first...
Bill G.
Bill G.
2018-03-04 18:26:31
Best outfit for surf lessons on Waikiki. A few steps away from the worst crowds, next to the groovy beach hut cafe. This crew will get you surfing or...
W C.
W C.
2018-02-21 21:59:42
We read reviews and carefully choose activities while on vacation. Ohana is one of those choices that lived up to the good reviews. Chelsea is an excellent...
Firas N.
Firas N.
2018-01-22 10:22:11
Surfed for the first time in my life with these guys last week. They promptly picked me up from the hotel, gave me a video tutorial in a van, followed by a...
Judy L.
Judy L.
2018-01-20 21:12:07
Ohana Surf Project made my first surfing experience incredibly memorable. They picked up from a pre-determined meeting spot and were incredibly...
Erin F.
Erin F.
2018-01-01 16:02:41
This was the best time we had our entire trip (and my previous trips to oahu). Chris, our surf instructor, was super cool, gave easy instructions and made...
Ramzi J.
Ramzi J.
2017-12-08 01:42:55
Hands down an amazing experience! I had Kevin and Chelsea as instructors. They were both awesome! 100% would recommend them to anyone! Super stoked they...
Lukia X.
Lukia X.
2017-11-05 12:51:44
I had a great surf lesson with Ohana! The staff is very friendly and patient, love the vibe here. The booking is very convenient online, there's also a...
Melissa G.
Melissa G.
2017-11-02 02:59:50
These guys are GREAT! Chelsea is super friendly and the instructors were very easygoing and helpful, while also being very relaxed. I had SO MUCH FUN! They...
Sharron L.
Sharron L.
2017-10-08 19:05:30
Wonderful company to surf with.as the name Ohana says they treat you like family. Have surfed with these guys and gals for many years and when they opened...
Christopher D.
Christopher D.
2017-09-04 13:00:55
Ohana instructors Troy and Kevin provided patient and helpful instruction. My son (12 years old) and I had a terrific afternoon with lots of waves and...
Jerry G.
Jerry G.
2017-08-13 00:22:36
Awesome experience!! Helpful and professional coaches, definitely recommend OSP for anyone wanting to try surfing
Elizabeth S.
Elizabeth S.
2017-08-07 15:34:55
Some of the best surfing with expert instructors and lots and lots of Aloha in their hearts! I catch a lot of great waves and am completely worry free...
Kyle S.
Kyle S.
2017-07-29 11:14:12
Amazing day spent surfing with Ohana Surf Project. Ohana (family) is exactly what we felt like after 2 min...fun and safe surf school for the whole family...
Sam S.
Sam S.
2017-07-13 23:16:55
These guys are professional, fun, focused on getting you surfing quickly and safely...they take all levels of athleticism, all ages, all abilities and flat...
Kar Z.
Kar Z.
2017-06-06 11:00:02
It was a great experience! Never had surfed before but wanting to push ourselves on this trip so booked a private lesson. Just me and my sister along w...
J K.
J K.
2017-05-05 23:26:29
I have taken a few lessons before, but this has been the absolute best. The instructors are very knowledge and teach about the ocean, surfing fundamentals...
Carlos L.
Carlos L.
2017-05-01 04:01:37
Dear would be surfer, welcome to Hawaii!)With the knowledge of the ocean and the breakdown of surfing safety OSP provided me, my confidence level increased...
Karen K.
Karen K.
2017-04-22 01:50:57
I can check surfing off my bucket list! Thank you Chelsea for your enthusiasm at the get go; my private instructor Nick for your patience, encouragement and...
Randall R.
Randall R.
2017-04-03 18:52:07
Chelsea, Sean, Matt, and the entire crew at OSP were absolutely fantastic! If you are thinking about giving surfing a try, I couldn't recommend them more....
Sara B.
Sara B.
2017-03-31 01:01:12
Amazing, couldn't recommend these guys enough! My self and my 5y old had a great time today. Chelsea, Matt and Kevin just made our experience fantastic!
Dennis S.
Dennis S.
2016-11-28 23:33:28
We had an absolute blast. Chelsea was patient, helpful, and full of enthusiasm. My two kids and I had a ton of fun, and felt like we learned and got...

Ohana Surf Project
3.6
powered by Facebook
Brandy Caddell
Brandy Caddell
2019-08-14T00:59:58+0000
I just had an amazing lesson with Reid. The instructors are kind, fun and encouraging. I loved every minute!
Maria Welvaert
Maria Welvaert
2019-08-13T01:27:16+0000
Lighthearted, good natured and fun! Helped build confidence in my abilities and made me feel at ease in the waves. Would recommend to anyone wanting to give surfing a try!
Joana Totamarit
Joana Totamarit
2019-07-23T21:20:53+0000
Amazing instructors. I joined to surfing lessons with them and it was awesome. They teach u so well and always make sure about the security which is super important.
Robert Schultz
Robert Schultz
2019-07-10T19:05:17+0000
My granddaughter, 18, had a two hour private lesson on June 26. Everyone was most helpful and the instructors were great. She had a blast.
Kristian Sharp
Kristian Sharp
2019-07-07T15:16:12+0000
I went for a 2 hour lesson and it was super fun! They have excellent instructors who are super patient and local so they have tons of experience/ thanks to everyone for making the experience amazing. After the day was done they shuttled us back to the hotel which is a major plus. Thanks again I can’t wait to see you all again 🙏🤙
Evgenia Ilyinskaya
Evgenia Ilyinskaya
2019-06-28T15:43:12+0000
Really well organised and great instructors
Kevin Barton
Kevin Barton
2019-06-11T17:15:16+0000
My wife and I took a surf lesson on 5/29/19. It was such a positive experience. The instructors and all of the staff were awesome. It was so much fun. I would highly recommend them to everyone. 👍
James Miller
James Miller
2019-04-21T05:02:58+0000
OSP rocks .. thank you for a great time..fantastic family experience .. Kevin was great, and Danny keeps you smiling .. Mia is already picking out her board for the next vacay to Hawaii !! @gr8g8r87 #gr8g8r87.
Yukihiko  Sakamoto
Yukihiko Sakamoto
2019-04-18T06:56:54+0000
コーチもフレンドリーで、丁寧で誰でも簡単に波に乗れるようになりますよ!次回また行こうと思います。とても気に入りました!
Patrice Cezzar
Patrice Cezzar
2019-03-28T21:46:00+0000
My kids and I had the best time surfing with Ohana Surf Project! The instructors were excellent! So patient and positive. Thanks for a great time! We can’t wait to come again!
John C. Yarwood
John C. Yarwood
2019-03-20T04:58:03+0000
Awesome instructors...very knowledgeable and patient!!! Highly recommended...
Jessica Miller
Jessica Miller
2019-03-15T15:06:08+0000
My son had a private lesson with Sean. It was his first time surfing and he was very nervous before he got in the water. He caught a wave on his first try! After the lesson he told me he wants to get a surfboard because he loves surfing! Highly recommend Ohana Surf Project!
Kana Young
Kana Young
2019-02-13T21:16:03+0000
I did a private surf lesson with Matt. He did such a great job and helped me so much. That was my first time surfing and I was able to do well because of his help. I highly recommend. They are all so nice and helpful.
Kevn Stok
Kevn Stok
2019-02-11T18:37:42+0000
Thanks Troy, Chelsea, Kevin and crew for the awesome surfing experience. I booked a family session and everyone had the best time, my kids included. Your team was very patient and managed to devote equal attention to every person in the group. Thank you very much for towing us when we got tired and for taking the videos and photos so we can fully remember this wonderful experience. You definitely dialled our experience up to 11. We'll come find you again when we visit next. Mahalo!
Audrey Burm
Audrey Burm
2019-02-09T19:20:51+0000
These humans were great! They had a little chat with us to sign waivers. Then we watched a power point 'How to' and Safety power point. we suited up picked up the boards and headed to the water! I am amazed at how these people can maneuver their own boards in the water while grabbing yours with their and dragging you with their toes to where you need to be to catch a wave. They are able to watch everyone and tell them where to go while also watching the waves. ALSO, they can ride right beside you to take GoPro footage. I was not able to fully surf on my own but it was not for their lack of trying. They were enthusiastic all the way. They rest of my family actually got up and surfed including two 11 year old boys! I totally recommend these people!
Seema Ali Mansoor
Seema Ali Mansoor
2019-01-29T04:30:28+0000
The Ohana Surf team has to be the best surf team out there. My husband and boys had taken lessons during our visit to Hawaii in July. The entire team went above and beyond to make their experience amazing. They encouraged my 7 year old to stick with it and made him enjoy the water. You can feel the passion they all shared. We will definitely be taking more lessons next time (even I plan on doing it). They make you feel apart of their family especially when we got their holiday cards. But the thing that struck me the most is their kindness and professionalism. I have been meaning to write a review since we got back, then when we got our holiday card, and now I knew I had to do it right now before I forget again. I just got ready to print our professional pics they took (they do an amazing job) and the file did not open. The team responded to my email right away and I just ordered my pics. Thank you all for being awesome!!! 😃😃😃
Katie Webber
Katie Webber
2019-01-27T03:52:20+0000
Ohana Surf Project was awesome to work with! It was my husband and mine’s first time surfing and they were patient and worked with us, they also were very encouraging! I would highly recommend them for lessons! If we were here longer we would go back and do it again!
Andrew Vermette
Andrew Vermette
2019-01-25T21:37:57+0000
These guys are top notch and a blast to learn to surf with. Laid back with great instruction along the way. Ohana Surf Project has the whole process figured out to ensure you have an enjoyable and satisfying surf experience! I'll be surfing with them again on my next visit to Oahu.
Hunter Blake Silvio
Hunter Blake Silvio
2018-12-31T04:24:34+0000
Great experience. Wonderful team. Definitely going again before leaving!
Cheryl Elizabeth Cagle
Cheryl Elizabeth Cagle
2018-12-29T01:56:41+0000
Great instruction!!! We all got up!!
Alexander Luthor
Alexander Luthor
2018-12-23T19:17:52+0000
My son and I took the two hour group surfing lesson and our instructor, Kainoa was great. After teaching us the basics, he provided consistent tips on improving our form. The camera crew was also great. They took numerous, high quality photos and videos for us. Very friendly and professional staff and I’d recommend Ohana Surf Project to anyone looking to learn how to surf.
Kristy Koshlap Patmore
Kristy Koshlap Patmore
2018-12-23T05:32:19+0000
We are a family of 5, youngest are 10 and oldest in our 50s! We had an amazing day with everyone at Ohana Surf Project! Not only did they make us feel safe, but we all actually surfed! Very patient and caring instructors! Highly recommend them if you are looking to surf! 🏄🏼‍♀️🏄‍♂️🌊
Aleksandr Shvets
Aleksandr Shvets
2018-12-20T09:43:37+0000
Mahalo, it was a great experience for me and my wife.
Nicole Grundy-smyth
Nicole Grundy-smyth
2018-11-21T03:09:24+0000
Fantastic experience we couldn’t be happier great, Jayden was awesome
Franz Angerer
Franz Angerer
2018-11-09T03:29:03+0000
Good guys there, very friendly, very helpfull
Nancy Bergen
Nancy Bergen
2018-09-17T07:42:08+0000
My husband and I took a lesson last week. The support and encouragement made this a positive experience! My husband even lost his glasses in the ocean. Grateful that one of the guides found them on the bottom of the ocean. Thank you for such a wonderful experience. We will be back again next year to try some bigger waves!
Leni Schuhmann
Leni Schuhmann
2018-09-13T22:09:47+0000
Absolutely awesome!Special thanks to Troy who did a perfect job as instructor!♥️
Eden Ellis
Eden Ellis
2018-09-05T19:11:07+0000
The whole Ohana team did a fantastic job from start to finish. They kept it simple, kept us safe, gave amazing tips and got all of us first timers up and feeling successful. The pictures were fun and a terrific takeaway. Did not see any other schools doing that. Big thanks for an amazing memory and story to tell 😍
Jimmy Danz
Jimmy Danz
2018-09-05T16:47:55+0000
Chelsea and her team of professionals do an amazing job. The staff is fun, safe and makes sure everyone has an experience to remember...
Vanessa Lee
Vanessa Lee
2018-08-19T02:28:15+0000
Great instructors - teaching was brilliant, broke it down so easy and had load of fun. Best surf to learn on. Definitely a good workout.
Regula Boller-Siegenthaler
Regula Boller-Siegenthaler
2018-08-11T18:03:08+0000
If you want to know, how ohana feels like - go there 🌺It’s just great 🏄🏼‍♀️
Kerri Gumbert Ebertowski
Kerri Gumbert Ebertowski
2018-07-10T01:29:58+0000
MOST FUN I HAD IN MY 5 DAYS IN WAIKIKI! The staff was phenomenal at not only teaching us how to surf and how to surf safely, but they made the whole experience fun! It was our first time surfing for both my husband and I and we fell in love with surfing! When we bring our kids back to Honolulu, we will definitely be scheduling lessons for the whole family with this group!
Peyton McAtee
Peyton McAtee
2018-07-09T04:20:16+0000
My dad and I surfed with them on our vacation to Oahu in June! This was both of our first time ever to try surfing! We had an amazing time! All of the instructors were so helpful! We had Troy helping us out for most of the time but everyone there that day was so helpful!! I would love to do it again sometime and recommend it to anyone who wants to try surfing!
Jethro Seghers
Jethro Seghers
2018-06-17T00:32:59+0000
Had a one on one lesson with Matt. That dude is amazing period. The two hours flew by, I was exhausted and felt emotionally full because he did everything he could to set me up for success! Thanks again!
Dixie Marlin
Dixie Marlin
2018-06-16T20:23:16+0000
My husband went yesterday and hasn't stopped talking about it since! This is a great group to learn from!
Stephanie Petkosek-Raper
Stephanie Petkosek-Raper
2018-06-15T00:47:30+0000
Great experience, great instructors!
Lesley Yang
Lesley Yang
2018-05-03T20:08:09+0000
My daughter had 2-hour private lesson with Chelsea. She's awesome. My daughter's size is small compare to the surf board, it's hard for her to paddle water to move forward. Chelsea always company her and help her move forward. Another coach - Kevin provided instruction to my daughter also to correct her position. They're all experienced coach.
Ruth Kerr
Ruth Kerr
2018-04-08T21:35:39+0000
What an amazing experience—thank you! Great instructors, made the entire learning experience seamless! Definitely recommend to anyone who wants to experience the exhilarating sport of surfing! Such fun! The ohana that surfs together, stays together �
Gatim Lau
Gatim Lau
2018-03-28T07:37:56+0000
Lilinoe Warren
Lilinoe Warren
2018-03-19T21:28:07+0000
All the surf instructors were so encouraging, and you can tell they have a passion to teach. I would recommend Ohana surf project to anyone looking for surfing lessons! �
Chris Schmiedeke
Chris Schmiedeke
2018-03-19T20:12:37+0000
My two teenage daughters and I surfed over their Spring Break. We had a blast! The staff was great. They were fun and did a great job making sure everyone was safe and was able to get up on the boards. I really likes their set up toward the end of Waikiki beach as well as it gave us some privacy from the crowds.We all surfed! Highly recommend.
Kevin Gasher
Kevin Gasher
2018-03-18T01:23:50+0000
Sean is a true professional. Small waves to big waves he has you covered.
Tonya Russell
Tonya Russell
2018-03-16T01:34:40+0000
Great instructors with a whole lot of patience. I hope to come back to Oahu and surf with them again. Until then, I have the amazing photos they took as nostalgia.
Chris Melvin
Chris Melvin
2018-02-18T20:36:21+0000
The Ohana Surf Project were awesome. Tim, Craig and Chelsea went above and beyond to make this a great experience. They were incredibly helpful and patient throughout my lesson and got me to stand up quite a few times. They also gave me plenty of tips to take away and practice. I would recommend them to anyone wanting to start or improve their surfing Chris M
Guy Walker
Guy Walker
2018-02-15T06:38:19+0000
To all of you at OSP thank you so much for a great time and workout! Absolutely loved every minute of it! Special thanks to Jimmy Danz for bringing me and introducing me to the ohana! Cant wait for a return trip that will for sure include the OSP!Mahalo!!!Guy Walker
Charlotte A. Westenholz
Charlotte A. Westenholz
2018-01-26T05:09:05+0000
Dana and Troy were the most patient and supportive instructors. When I started to feel a little hopeless they just kept guiding me on what I needed to adjust - and eventually I got up and kinda surfed! What a great feeling! Thank you so much, and I'll definitely be back.
Katherine Lee-Jimenez
Katherine Lee-Jimenez
2018-01-25T20:49:02+0000
learning how to surf with chelsea, nick, and sean was the best. i cant go anywhere else because no one else will be as good as them and this company! for those who are like me and dont know how to swim, you are in great hands with OSP! i always felt safe!! :)btw, they are all super friendly and easy to talk to if you ever have any concerns about surfing and the area!! 🙂
Chelsea H Lewis
Chelsea H Lewis
2018-01-25T19:15:05+0000
Great place to work! I love my job 🙂
Anders Laugesen
Anders Laugesen
2018-01-14T05:52:50+0000
Havde en rigtig god dag med ohana surf project. Kan helt klart anbefales og hvis jeg kommer tilbage engang vil jeg helt sikkert kontakte dem igen. Tak for en fantastisk oplevelse
Renée Emerson
Renée Emerson
2017-12-07T05:17:00+0000
Had a such a fun morning. Really well organised surf school. The instructors were amazing.. our group had Chelsea and Kevin.. they had us all standing up and riding waves first wave. The lessons are also up the left side of Waikiki Beach so it’s less crowded and you have the waves to yourself.. if you looking to do surf lessons while in Waikiki this is the place to go!!Mahalo!! Will keep on wave dancing Chelsea ��
Elizabeth Sneed
Elizabeth Sneed
2017-11-04T05:21:02+0000
So I practically live here part time... I absolutely love everyone! Ohana means family and that is what everyone at Ohana Surf is to me! I joined the locals surf program in August and will complete my 22nd surf session with Ohana tomorrow morning! They are expert instructors with hearts full of Aloha! Your session is sure to be safe, fun, and filled with lots of great waves! Big mahalo for all they do for the community and us surf clubbers! See ya tomorrow! <3
Maggie Alva
Maggie Alva
2017-10-31T20:33:50+0000
My first time surfing - great experience and friendly teachers, definitely recommend!
Tricia Helsel
Tricia Helsel
2017-10-17T00:17:46+0000
Chika  Shimokura
Chika Shimokura
2017-09-16T06:39:40+0000
スタッフの方が優しくしかも大事なポイントはキッチリ教えてくれるので、安心だと思います。ボードもリーフブーツもきちんとしていて、予約のやり取りもスムーズでした。日本語が話せる方もいます。
Arif Igdebeli
Arif Igdebeli
2017-08-29T21:49:06+0000
It was our first time trying surfing the team is simply amazing. We were able to ride our first wave after a couple of tries. What an amazing feeling. We'll definitely surf again. Thank you all.
Linda Bibbee
Linda Bibbee
2017-08-23T18:24:30+0000
Husband and son took their first surf lesson over the weekend and had a blast! All of the instructors were great. I would definitely recommend buying the pictures---they're amazing and such a wonderful way to remember the adventure.
Dawn Elizabeth Blalock
Dawn Elizabeth Blalock
2017-08-16T05:20:07+0000
Great location, great teachers: highly recommend it. This is my second year surfing with Ohana Surf Project
Madalina Teodor
Madalina Teodor
2017-08-13T00:58:49+0000
If you are trying for the first time to stand on a board then you definitely have to book with Ohana Project Surf! They are super fun and friendly, very professional and willing to improve your skills on an ongoing manner. Beside, the place they go out is less crowded as it is towards the end of the Waikiki Beach. I also had a lesson with a different surf school, Hans Hedemann which is recommended by Lonely Planet, but there is no comparison, it felt like waisting my time - they were friendly too but more interested to chit-chat and kill the time rather than teach anything-. My thanks to the Ohana Surf Team - Chelsea, Kevin, Matt, Sean (sorry if I didn't get your names right) and the friendly, shy guy with the gopro camera. I had a great time today with you and will surely come back one day. Mahalo! �
Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma
2017-07-02T22:04:53+0000
Well run, organized, safe and fun experience with amazing instructors
Noelle Goshey
Noelle Goshey
2017-06-22T18:22:03+0000
Jessica Connell
Jessica Connell
2017-06-05T20:48:05+0000
Sierra Ranier
Sierra Ranier
2017-04-21T01:53:40+0000
Chiyoko Yamaguchi
Chiyoko Yamaguchi
2017-04-19T11:01:55+0000
Awesome!!! Great!!! Fantastic!!!
Hayley Felten
Hayley Felten
2017-04-07T05:47:29+0000
My daughters are learning to surf with Ohana Surf Project and they really look forward to their lessons! The instructors are all super fun and friendly. My youngest daughter loves Chelsea.
Gary Taylor
Gary Taylor
2017-03-27T22:30:22+0000
Great day on the water! Small instructor to student ratio means catching lots of waves & great instruction. Very professional company, I will be recommending Ohara Surf Project to all my friends & family.Thanks Chelsea, Kevin & Troy!
Sarah Keesler
Sarah Keesler
2017-01-21T23:52:31+0000
They have their act together! Such a fun lesson.
Gokce Guler Sirin
Gokce Guler Sirin
2017-01-12T20:08:32+0000
Vishal Brijlal
Vishal Brijlal
2016-12-30T04:44:57+0000
Awesome experience. Thank you Chelsea and Kevin. �
Wang Coco
Wang Coco
2016-12-14T08:59:03+0000
Jinglin Cui
Jinglin Cui
2016-12-14T08:57:22+0000
Gábor Lónyai
Gábor Lónyai
2016-12-08T22:10:03+0000
Today is my last day in O'ahu and I felt being here and not learning how to surf would be a shame. I enden up being alone so I got a private lesson. It was an amazing experience, Troy and Nick were very professional and tried to help me all the way they could. Mahalo for the amazing lesson.
Tim Bazor
Tim Bazor
2016-11-23T22:30:37+0000
First class instructors and overall experience. If you want to learn how to surf, these are the guys!!
Lydia R. Aguayo
Lydia R. Aguayo
2016-09-18T02:19:48+0000
Wow! Great experience, this company was very professional and made this worth while. I would recommend this company to all....aloha
Heimana Sherman
Heimana Sherman
2016-08-27T00:12:37+0000
Best prices .. Super friendly staff.. Thanks for taking good care of my kids Ashanti and Nina �
Gustavo Adolfo Del Castillo
Gustavo Adolfo Del Castillo
2016-08-24T00:43:08+0000
An amazing experience, I really want to thank all the staff for such a fun time.They picked us up 10 minutes before 9:00 am, by 9:30 we were already on the water and trying to catch our first wave. Fast and great lessons.At first I was thinking so much about what I was "trying" to do but between Kanoia, Chelsea, Troy and Sean they made sure to let me know what was wrong and how to make it work. I ended up riding the waves (not like a pro) but not falling on my buttocks and having a blast.If you're ever in Waikiki and want to learn how to surf do not hesitate and come to Ohana Surf Project, these people are going to help you and give you all they have for you to experience the best time while learning how to surf.Thank you Chelsea, Kanoia, Troy and Sean, you were the cherry on top of the ice cream of our trip to Hawaii.
James Fallon Jeffrey
James Fallon Jeffrey
2016-07-15T19:16:30+0000
Sean and all the instructors' knowledge of the local breaks, swells and conditions take the guesswork out of where to surf in Oahu. Great people make for a great experience! Much aloha to OSP!
Austin Finnan
Austin Finnan
2016-07-13T01:08:46+0000
It was so awesome to experience surfing for the first time! The instructors were great and helped out a lot to get you up on the waves. I'd recommend this to anyone! Troy and Chelsea were amazing instructors to work with.
Courtney Crist
Courtney Crist
2016-06-29T21:34:20+0000
I had a wonderful time and would recommend them to anyone wanting to learn. Nick and Koa were fun. Nick is a great instructor and I appreciated his guidance throughout the process. Thank you!
Eunjung Lee
Eunjung Lee
2016-06-15T17:09:08+0000
My first hawaii trip wouldn't have been as amazing as it was without the Ohana Surf Project. Nick was the best instructor and helped everyone in our group stand up on a wave! The whole team was friendly, professional, and really made you feel the Aloha Spirit. Their set up is awesome and provide you with everything you need! I highly recommend purchasing all the high quality pictures they take for you. It was great looking through every photo with family and friends once we were back home.
Norma Lawson
Norma Lawson
2016-04-03T18:08:01+0000
What an awesome time my boys had surfing with the Ohana Surf Project. The whole crew was fantastic. So friendly and safety conscious. Highly recommend them for first timers. Mahalo!
Michelle Dolan
Michelle Dolan
2016-03-28T04:02:36+0000
Ohana Surf Project are awesome. As a local resident my family and I spend a lot of time in the ocean. It had been a very long time since my college days of surfing. Ohana helped me get back in the water and start surfing with my kids. They bring the board I like and have an instructor with me all the time. The last three times I have gone I have felt awesome in water! I can surf again!! They have a great local deals for pricing and I can schedule a lesson pretty much any time I want. I'm super excited to go again.
Shayne Batters
Shayne Batters
2016-02-12T01:36:54+0000
Ohana surf is a must do if you're in Oahu. Matt and Nick were both really great instructors and made it really simple for us first-timers. The spot that they operate is tailer-made to learn to surf and has the convenience of being a stone's throw from Waikiki. Would 100% recommend for anyone visiting Oahu.
Mike Lee
Mike Lee
2016-01-19T04:18:30+0000
Nick provided an answer to all my questions succinctly and converted a (former) land animal into one that understands the sea a lot more. Patient, sincere, and tons of fun. Kainoa was like the papa bear giving me much needed motivation and discipline and honestly, I was straight up starstruck! Chelsea made it so simple for me to book my lesson and it was effortless. Just remember that these guys work hard at their craft and much respect goes out to them. I had my lesson on MLK Day, so Waikiki proper was undoubtedly packed, and as a beginner, you don't want snorkelers or tourists surrounding you while you're trying to do something totally new. Nick picked me up in the OSP Mobile from the meetup spot and we headed over to Diamondhead. Full service! Mahalo to OSP and until we meet again, Aloha!
Joe Strazzeri
Joe Strazzeri
2015-11-24T03:10:24+0000
Love these souls - especially Chelsea who has been in the water with our two children for the last four years. My daughter then six and my son then ten felt safe, learned , and had a blast - they talk about it all year n can't wait to surf Waikiki each time with her.
Debra Zahedi
Debra Zahedi
2015-08-29T01:31:29+0000
Raul Monroy Salinas
Raul Monroy Salinas
2015-08-23T15:30:36+0000
Mark Gabriel
Mark Gabriel
2015-08-23T14:24:52+0000
Awesome project
Jc Gorena
Jc Gorena
2015-08-21T22:06:19+0000
Stefan Dita
Stefan Dita
2015-08-21T20:00:07+0000
I'm going to have to try this next time we're on Oahu. 🙂 Ondine has been.
Angela Lima
Angela Lima
2015-08-21T18:35:35+0000
Kainoa is the best surf instructor ever! I got up on my first wave!!
Dean Marzol
Dean Marzol
2015-08-21T03:44:16+0000
U R Guaranteed 2 have a good time, & learning from da best!
Rui Bonacho
Rui Bonacho
2015-08-20T23:31:19+0000
Jake Conroy
Jake Conroy
2015-08-18T21:08:53+0000
Mike Burns
Mike Burns
2015-08-18T17:36:16+0000
Kimberlee Koch
Kimberlee Koch
2015-08-17T18:56:54+0000
Federico Cabrera Cárdenas
Federico Cabrera Cárdenas
2015-08-15T19:53:30+0000
Yuuka Okada
Yuuka Okada
2015-08-10T00:38:06+0000
日本からハワイの旅行の時レッスン受けましたとてもいいポイントに連れて行ってもらい 素敵な波にのれました。初心者のfamilyも楽しかったようです。笑いの絶えないレッスン安心もできます。また行きたいです!
Myon Jang
Myon Jang
2015-07-22T10:31:23+0000
Everlasting youth is right here~
Masami Marla Hayashi
Masami Marla Hayashi
2015-06-25T21:24:27+0000
Aliyah Reid
Aliyah Reid
2015-06-24T21:52:16+0000
Awesome instructors and always an awesome time!
Chico Sirias
Chico Sirias
2015-06-24T15:14:20+0000
Theo Efrén Toribio Pérez
Theo Efrén Toribio Pérez
2015-06-24T14:00:08+0000
Mayumi Kakinaka
Mayumi Kakinaka
2015-06-24T00:54:58+0000
Awesaome❣❣❣❣❣Amezing!!! :)))))♡♡♡スタッフ全員、本当に親切・丁寧・楽しい~です。初めての方でも小さな子供さんでも安心してサーフィンを楽しむことができます!!絶対おすすめします(^^)
Melinda Ewing Andrade
Melinda Ewing Andrade
2015-06-20T03:54:50+0000
Ok.....if you are new to surfing like We were last summer (or you are retired from the surf circuit and want to hang w other hot and knowledgeable people!), and you want to learn from the best there is ONE new game in town. OSP is where it's at!! We surfed for the entire week we were in Waikiki..we thought we'd surf once or twice but after getting the rush from surfing we were hooked and couldn't get enough!! Sean, Chelsea and Nick made surfing obtainable and enjoyable for all of us!! Couldn't recommend a nicer or more entertaining group of people. They were so professional that we felt safe entrusting our children with them, and enjoyed all of our time on the water with them!! Most people only dream about surfing.....but through OSP you can easily change that dream into a reality!! Can't wait to land in Honolulu for our next adventure!! Thanks OSP! Aloha!!
Miki Miura
Miki Miura
2015-06-19T08:26:11+0000
The best surf school!!! Great people! Aloha spirit!!:)
Ира Фром Калифорния
Ира Фром Калифорния
2015-06-13T04:29:48+0000
Jon Clark
Jon Clark
2015-06-12T18:56:13+0000
These guys are the real deal! So nice and easy going but also very safety oriented. What a great group.
Dai Nagalingam
Dai Nagalingam
2015-06-08T16:17:20+0000
Jerry Thomas Anderson
Jerry Thomas Anderson
2015-06-08T11:35:09+0000
No one does it BETTER!!! Definitely the place to get Great instructions with a wonderful hands on attitude.
Jordan Puhek
Jordan Puhek
2015-06-07T22:57:56+0000
Broccoli Bozzolo
Broccoli Bozzolo
2015-06-07T22:37:56+0000
Will Chapman
Will Chapman
2015-06-06T09:30:11+0000
Next Reviews

> SURF SCHOOL BUS FLEET

We offer free pick-up in our Surf School Bus vehicles from Waikiki!

> OSP MEMBERS

Click to learn more about the local benefits of being an OSP member.

OHANA SURF PROJECT | WAIKIKI, HONOLULU HI | +01 808.599.SURF (7873) | OSP@OHANASURFPROJECT.COM