Ohana Surf Project Reviews

We think we are pretty good at what we do. I guess it’s because Surfing is where ALL of our instructors passion lies. Our instructors are all involved in various sports, but the thing called surfing… it lives in our souls. That’s what makes us awesome! We love what we do! Check us out and you will understand what we mean. You don’t just have to take our word for it. Check out our reviews below…



Ohana Surf Project
5.0
Based on 46 Reviews
Sharron L.
Sharron L.
2017-10-08 19:05:30
Wonderful company to surf with.as the name Ohana says they treat you like family. Have surfed with these guys and gals for many years and when they opened...
Christopher D.
Christopher D.
2017-09-04 13:00:55
Ohana instructors Troy and Kevin provided patient and helpful instruction. My son (12 years old) and I had a terrific afternoon with lots of waves and...
Jerry G.
Jerry G.
2017-08-13 00:22:36
Awesome experience!! Helpful and professional coaches, definitely recommend OSP for anyone wanting to try surfing
Elizabeth S.
Elizabeth S.
2017-08-07 15:34:55
Some of the best surfing with expert instructors and lots and lots of Aloha in their hearts! I catch a lot of great waves and am completely worry free...
Kyle S.
Kyle S.
2017-07-29 11:14:12
Amazing day spent surfing with Ohana Surf Project. Ohana (family) is exactly what we felt like after 2 min...fun and safe surf school for the whole family...
Sam S.
Sam S.
2017-07-13 23:16:55
These guys are professional, fun, focused on getting you surfing quickly and safely...they take all levels of athleticism, all ages, all abilities and flat...
Kar Z.
Kar Z.
2017-06-06 11:00:02
It was a great experience! Never had surfed before but wanting to push ourselves on this trip so booked a private lesson. Just me and my sister along w...
J K.
J K.
2017-05-05 23:26:29
I have taken a few lessons before, but this has been the absolute best. The instructors are very knowledge and teach about the ocean, surfing fundamentals...
Carlos L.
Carlos L.
2017-05-01 04:01:37
Dear would be surfer, welcome to Hawaii!)With the knowledge of the ocean and the breakdown of surfing safety OSP provided me, my confidence level increased...
Karen K.
Karen K.
2017-04-22 01:50:57
I can check surfing off my bucket list! Thank you Chelsea for your enthusiasm at the get go; my private instructor Nick for your patience, encouragement and...
Randall R.
Randall R.
2017-04-03 18:52:07
Chelsea, Sean, Matt, and the entire crew at OSP were absolutely fantastic! If you are thinking about giving surfing a try, I couldn't recommend them more....
Sara B.
Sara B.
2017-03-31 01:01:12
Amazing, couldn't recommend these guys enough! My self and my 5y old had a great time today. Chelsea, Matt and Kevin just made our experience fantastic!
Dennis S.
Dennis S.
2016-11-28 23:33:28
We had an absolute blast. Chelsea was patient, helpful, and full of enthusiasm. My two kids and I had a ton of fun, and felt like we learned and got...

Kelsi Thorne
Kelsi Thorne
05:42 10 Aug 17
Probably some of the coolest people you will ever meet. The best surfing experience. I had two lessons, but probably could have surfed on my own after one. Really reasonable pricing, and will even pick up from most hotels in the region. Will be recommending these guys to everyone I know visiting Oahu.
Alisha Hunter
Alisha Hunter
07:07 04 Aug 17
Hands down the best experience I've had in Hawaii so far! Would highly recommend! The instructor to surfer ratio is so comforting and they take you out of the hustle and bustle of the main beach in Waikiki! Thank you guys so much!
Aliyah Reid
Aliyah Reid
18:59 02 May 17
The Ohana Surf Project crew is simply awesome and really make you part of their Ohana. We have traveled and surfed in many places around the world and they are by far the best crew we have ever surfed with. The crew emphasizes the importance of safety yet, gives you positive and reassuring vibes to feel comfortable in the water and CATCH WAVES. Chelsea and Sean, we can't wait to surf with you guys again! Mahalo!
Farrah Moore
Farrah Moore
21:06 21 Mar 17
Really awesome experience. The crew, especially Nick, are really nice! My husband also got to surf with Shaun, the pro surfer. The whole crew is very professional. They also offer some great advice for other cool things to do around the island. We'll definitely book with them again. Mahalo!
Alanna Kriz
Alanna Kriz
17:19 13 Feb 17
Best group of instructors in Waikiki! I had the pleasure of spending 2 summers working in Hawaii. I worked closely with Chelsea, Sean, Nick and James. They all are so passionate about surfing and it really shows up in their lessons. With friendly, outgoing personalities, you will spend the lesson with a smile on your face. They have years of experience and know exactly how to get anybody on their feet in just one lesson, it is truly amazing. They also know the surf conditions and safety is their number one priority. If you are in Waikiki, and have any interest in surfing, whether you are a beginner or an experienced surfer, I definitely recommend surfing with Ohana Surf Project.
Ian Clark
Ian Clark
04:25 01 Feb 17
During my last visit to Oahu, I asked a few of my resident friends where a good place would be to get surf lessons and several told me to check out Ohana Surf Project. I had some experience as a teenager but definitely was in need of a refresher - I tried an initial lesson on the second day of my trip and went out several more times after such a positive first time experience. Every trainer I went out with was incredibly helpful and knowledgable and created a safe fun environment.
Shannon Dee
Shannon Dee
03:08 01 Feb 17
Ohana Surf Project is the best surf school in Hawaii! I had the best experience with these guys. They really treat you like family there. I am a beginner surfer and was nervous on a board but they made me feel super comfortable! I'm so thankful I found these guys, they made my trip to Hawaii extra special.
Charla Lewis
Charla Lewis
18:44 31 Jan 17
I had the best surfing experience with this crew! They were all so helpful with picking us up, giving us basic land lessons and then even helping us paddle out when my arms gave out! We had an awesome time and would highly recommend this great crew! We went back for more and did both stand up paddle board and body boarding! That was a blast!!! Thank you for adding to the adventure of our visit and we will be back soon!
See All Reviews

Ohana Surf Project
5.0
powered by Facebook
Tricia Helsel
Tricia Helsel
2017-10-17T00:17:46+0000
Chika  Shimokura
Chika Shimokura
2017-09-16T06:39:40+0000
スタッフの方が優しくしかも大事なポイントはキッチリ教えてくれるので、安心だと思います。ボードもリーフブーツもきちんとしていて、予約のやり取りもスムーズでした。日本語が話せる方もいます。
Arif Igdebeli
Arif Igdebeli
2017-08-29T21:49:06+0000
It was our first time trying surfing the team is simply amazing. We were able to ride our first wave after a couple of tries. What an amazing feeling. We'll definitely surf again. Thank you all.
Linda Bibbee
Linda Bibbee
2017-08-23T18:24:30+0000
Husband and son took their first surf lesson over the weekend and had a blast! All of the instructors were great. I would definitely recommend buying the pictures---they're amazing and such a wonderful way to remember the adventure.
Dawn Elizabeth Blalock
Dawn Elizabeth Blalock
2017-08-16T05:20:07+0000
Great location, great teachers: highly recommend it. This is my second year surfing with Ohana Surf Project
Madalina Teodor
Madalina Teodor
2017-08-13T00:58:49+0000
If you are trying for the first time to stand on a board then you definitely have to book with Ohana Project Surf! They are super fun and friendly, very professional and willing to improve your skills on an ongoing manner. Beside, the place they go out is less crowded as it is towards the end of the Waikiki Beach. I also had a lesson with a different surf school, Hans Hedemann which is recommended by Lonely Planet, but there is no comparison, it felt like waisting my time - they were friendly too but more interested to chit-chat and kill the time rather than teach anything-. My thanks to the Ohana Surf Team - Chelsea, Kevin, Matt, Sean (sorry if I didn't get your names right) and the friendly, shy guy with the gopro camera. I had a great time today with you and will surely come back one day. Mahalo! �
Janice Lee
Janice Lee
2017-08-07T07:09:40+0000
Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma
2017-07-02T22:04:53+0000
Well run, organized, safe and fun experience with amazing instructors
Noelle Goshey
Noelle Goshey
2017-06-22T18:22:03+0000
Maria Chris
Maria Chris
2017-06-09T04:02:52+0000
It was my first time surfing and I loved the experience. It was exciting and fun! It was worth the extra money for an individual private session. The instructors were amazing, encouraging, and knowledgeable. The best thing I've done thus far. Thank you Matt and Keola.
Jessica Connell
Jessica Connell
2017-06-05T20:48:05+0000
Tracy Wirtanen
Tracy Wirtanen
2017-04-27T03:42:33+0000
We had a family surf lesson . We ����it. Kevin, Nick & Matt are awesome!!!! Cannot wait to surf with them again.
Sierra Ranier
Sierra Ranier
2017-04-21T01:53:40+0000
Chiyoko Yamaguchi
Chiyoko Yamaguchi
2017-04-19T11:01:55+0000
Awesome!!! Great!!! Fantastic!!!
Hayley Felten
Hayley Felten
2017-04-07T05:47:29+0000
My daughters are learning to surf with Ohana Surf Project and they really look forward to their lessons! The instructors are all super fun and friendly. My youngest daughter loves Chelsea.
Daniel Sennhauser
Daniel Sennhauser
2017-04-06T03:59:37+0000
Had a family lesson today. My daughter, 9, my dad, 60+, and me. Matt and Kevin did awesome to show us the way, had us all standing up riding the waves by the end. Chelsea gave us great information at the start in their classroom van. If you're ever looking to give surfing a try and you find yourself in Waikiki, look no further than Ohana Surf Project. Super friendly, super professional, super experience! Mahalo!
Gary Taylor
Gary Taylor
2017-03-27T22:30:22+0000
Great day on the water! Small instructor to student ratio means catching lots of waves & great instruction. Very professional company, I will be recommending Ohara Surf Project to all my friends & family.Thanks Chelsea, Kevin & Troy!
Yurie Okada L'Orange
Yurie Okada L'Orange
2017-03-25T10:17:47+0000
Ohana Surf Project is the best. They got me standing on the board straight away. The instructors are warm and professional. I would recommend them in a heartbeat 🙂
Sarah Keesler
Sarah Keesler
2017-01-21T23:52:31+0000
They have their act together! Such a fun lesson.
Gokce Guler Sirin
Gokce Guler Sirin
2017-01-12T20:08:32+0000
Vishal Brijlal
Vishal Brijlal
2016-12-30T04:44:57+0000
Awesome experience. Thank you Chelsea and Kevin. �
Wang Coco
Wang Coco
2016-12-14T08:59:03+0000
Jinglin Cui
Jinglin Cui
2016-12-14T08:57:22+0000
Gábor Lónyai
Gábor Lónyai
2016-12-08T22:10:03+0000
Today is my last day in O'ahu and I felt being here and not learning how to surf would be a shame. I enden up being alone so I got a private lesson. It was an amazing experience, Troy and Nick were very professional and tried to help me all the way they could. Mahalo for the amazing lesson.
Tim Bazor
Tim Bazor
2016-11-23T22:30:37+0000
First class instructors and overall experience. If you want to learn how to surf, these are the guys!!
Sam Hart
Sam Hart
2016-09-30T07:13:53+0000
The whole crew is great. Had a really solid time. Definitely would do this again. Could not recommend them enough!
Lydia R. Aguayo
Lydia R. Aguayo
2016-09-18T02:19:48+0000
Wow! Great experience, this company was very professional and made this worth while. I would recommend this company to all....aloha
Daniel Alyanak Balaban
Daniel Alyanak Balaban
2016-09-17T23:52:10+0000
They are very professional and are really focused on teaching. Me and my family learned a lot with the team. I recomend if you are serious about learning.
Rachid Smahi
Rachid Smahi
2016-09-05T17:21:01+0000
Denise Fleming
Denise Fleming
2016-08-29T00:55:32+0000
We recently went to Hawaii for the first time. My 15 year old daughter wanted to try surfing and we were fortunate enough to sign her up with the Ohana Surf Project. The staff quickly helped her feel at ease, taught her the basics and took her into the water. Within minutes she was riding the waves. She came out of the water wanting more. We signed up for another lesson later in our vacation; my daughter talked me into giving it a try too. I have arthritis in my neck and I was concerned about injury. Chelsea was confident they could modify things for me to make the experience comfortable. I did not pop up as easily as my daughter, but with Chelsea's encouragement and feedback and Kevin next to me telling me to go for it and stand up, I did get up on the board. Nothing but fun and my neck is no worse for the wear! I heard a lot about the aloha spirit during our visit to Hawaii and the staff at Ohana Surf Project definitely exude that spirit.Surfing will be one of the great memories from our time in Honolulu. Thanks for everything OSP.Denis
Heimana Sherman
Heimana Sherman
2016-08-27T00:12:37+0000
Best prices .. Super friendly staff.. Thanks for taking good care of my kids Ashanti and Nina �
Gustavo Adolfo Del Castillo
Gustavo Adolfo Del Castillo
2016-08-24T00:43:08+0000
An amazing experience, I really want to thank all the staff for such a fun time.They picked us up 10 minutes before 9:00 am, by 9:30 we were already on the water and trying to catch our first wave. Fast and great lessons.At first I was thinking so much about what I was "trying" to do but between Kanoia, Chelsea, Troy and Sean they made sure to let me know what was wrong and how to make it work. I ended up riding the waves (not like a pro) but not falling on my buttocks and having a blast.If you're ever in Waikiki and want to learn how to surf do not hesitate and come to Ohana Surf Project, these people are going to help you and give you all they have for you to experience the best time while learning how to surf.Thank you Chelsea, Kanoia, Troy and Sean, you were the cherry on top of the ice cream of our trip to Hawaii.
James Fallon Jeffrey
James Fallon Jeffrey
2016-07-15T19:16:30+0000
Sean and all the instructors' knowledge of the local breaks, swells and conditions take the guesswork out of where to surf in Oahu. Great people make for a great experience! Much aloha to OSP!
Austin Finnan
Austin Finnan
2016-07-13T01:08:46+0000
It was so awesome to experience surfing for the first time! The instructors were great and helped out a lot to get you up on the waves. I'd recommend this to anyone! Troy and Chelsea were amazing instructors to work with.
Eunjung Lee
Eunjung Lee
2016-06-15T17:09:08+0000
My first hawaii trip wouldn't have been as amazing as it was without the Ohana Surf Project. Nick was the best instructor and helped everyone in our group stand up on a wave! The whole team was friendly, professional, and really made you feel the Aloha Spirit. Their set up is awesome and provide you with everything you need! I highly recommend purchasing all the high quality pictures they take for you. It was great looking through every photo with family and friends once we were back home.
Norma Lawson
Norma Lawson
2016-04-03T18:08:01+0000
What an awesome time my boys had surfing with the Ohana Surf Project. The whole crew was fantastic. So friendly and safety conscious. Highly recommend them for first timers. Mahalo!
Michelle Dolan
Michelle Dolan
2016-03-28T04:02:36+0000
Ohana Surf Project are awesome. As a local resident my family and I spend a lot of time in the ocean. It had been a very long time since my college days of surfing. Ohana helped me get back in the water and start surfing with my kids. They bring the board I like and have an instructor with me all the time. The last three times I have gone I have felt awesome in water! I can surf again!! They have a great local deals for pricing and I can schedule a lesson pretty much any time I want. I'm super excited to go again.
Megan 'Christensen' Pena
Megan 'Christensen' Pena
2016-03-13T06:56:06+0000
We had an amazing time. Kainoa was great! Thank you!!
Shayne Batters
Shayne Batters
2016-02-12T01:36:54+0000
Ohana surf is a must do if you're in Oahu. Matt and Nick were both really great instructors and made it really simple for us first-timers. The spot that they operate is tailer-made to learn to surf and has the convenience of being a stone's throw from Waikiki. Would 100% recommend for anyone visiting Oahu.
Mike Lee
Mike Lee
2016-01-19T04:18:30+0000
Nick provided an answer to all my questions succinctly and converted a (former) land animal into one that understands the sea a lot more. Patient, sincere, and tons of fun. Kainoa was like the papa bear giving me much needed motivation and discipline and honestly, I was straight up starstruck! Chelsea made it so simple for me to book my lesson and it was effortless. Just remember that these guys work hard at their craft and much respect goes out to them. I had my lesson on MLK Day, so Waikiki proper was undoubtedly packed, and as a beginner, you don't want snorkelers or tourists surrounding you while you're trying to do something totally new. Nick picked me up in the OSP Mobile from the meetup spot and we headed over to Diamondhead. Full service! Mahalo to OSP and until we meet again, Aloha!
Ann Marie Palladino
Ann Marie Palladino
2015-12-10T01:28:22+0000
Chelsea and Sean are amazing instructors! I was terrified of giving surfing a second try after having been stung by a stingray during my first surfing lesson (with a different company) the year before. They were very supportive and warm and made me feel very comfortable. The difference in instruction is also profound. They have a fabulous way of teaching that will have you up on the board and feeling confident very quickly.
Joe Strazzeri
Joe Strazzeri
2015-11-24T03:10:24+0000
Love these souls - especially Chelsea who has been in the water with our two children for the last four years. My daughter then six and my son then ten felt safe, learned , and had a blast - they talk about it all year n can't wait to surf Waikiki each time with her.
Debra Zahedi
Debra Zahedi
2015-08-29T01:31:29+0000
Raul Monroy Salinas
Raul Monroy Salinas
2015-08-23T15:30:36+0000
Mark Gabriel
Mark Gabriel
2015-08-23T14:24:52+0000
Awesome project
Kanai Sharsh
Kanai Sharsh
2015-08-23T07:50:56+0000
Jc Gorena
Jc Gorena
2015-08-21T22:06:19+0000
Stefan Dita
Stefan Dita
2015-08-21T20:00:07+0000
I'm going to have to try this next time we're on Oahu. 🙂 Ondine has been.
Angela Lima
Angela Lima
2015-08-21T18:35:35+0000
Kainoa is the best surf instructor ever! I got up on my first wave!!
Dean Marzol
Dean Marzol
2015-08-21T03:44:16+0000
U R Guaranteed 2 have a good time, & learning from da best!
Rui Bonacho
Rui Bonacho
2015-08-20T23:31:19+0000
Jake Conroy
Jake Conroy
2015-08-18T21:08:53+0000
Mike Burns
Mike Burns
2015-08-18T17:36:16+0000
Kimberlee Koch
Kimberlee Koch
2015-08-17T18:56:54+0000
Federico Cabrera
Federico Cabrera
2015-08-15T19:53:30+0000
Yuuka Okada
Yuuka Okada
2015-08-10T00:38:06+0000
日本からハワイの旅行の時レッスン受けましたとてもいいポイントに連れて行ってもらい 素敵な波にのれました。初心者のfamilyも楽しかったようです。笑いの絶えないレッスン安心もできます。また行きたいです!
Myon Jang
Myon Jang
2015-07-22T10:31:23+0000
Everlasting youth is right here~
Masami Marla Hayashi
Masami Marla Hayashi
2015-06-25T21:24:27+0000
Aliyah Reid
Aliyah Reid
2015-06-24T21:52:16+0000
Awesome instructors and always an awesome time!
Chico Sirias
Chico Sirias
2015-06-24T15:14:20+0000
Theo Efrén Toribio Pérez
Theo Efrén Toribio Pérez
2015-06-24T14:00:08+0000
Mayumi Kakinaka
Mayumi Kakinaka
2015-06-24T00:54:58+0000
Awesaome❣❣❣❣❣Amezing!!! :)))))♡♡♡スタッフ全員、本当に親切・丁寧・楽しい~です。初めての方でも小さな子供さんでも安心してサーフィンを楽しむことができます!!絶対おすすめします(^^)
Melinda Ewing Andrade
Melinda Ewing Andrade
2015-06-20T03:54:50+0000
Ok.....if you are new to surfing like We were last summer (or you are retired from the surf circuit and want to hang w other hot and knowledgeable people!), and you want to learn from the best there is ONE new game in town. OSP is where it's at!! We surfed for the entire week we were in Waikiki..we thought we'd surf once or twice but after getting the rush from surfing we were hooked and couldn't get enough!! Sean, Chelsea and Nick made surfing obtainable and enjoyable for all of us!! Couldn't recommend a nicer or more entertaining group of people. They were so professional that we felt safe entrusting our children with them, and enjoyed all of our time on the water with them!! Most people only dream about surfing.....but through OSP you can easily change that dream into a reality!! Can't wait to land in Honolulu for our next adventure!! Thanks OSP! Aloha!!
Miki Miura
Miki Miura
2015-06-19T08:26:11+0000
The best surf school!!! Great people! Aloha spirit!!:)
Lindsay Guentzel
Lindsay Guentzel
2015-06-17T18:29:09+0000
We are on our honeymoon and first time surfers. We got up and rode waves within minutes thanks to our instructors. We recommend this place 120%. We had one on one instruction and they catered to our strengths and weaknesses to help us improve our technique! We will be back! Thank you Sean, Nick and Troy! You guys are the best on the island!
Irena Mal
Irena Mal
2015-06-13T04:29:48+0000
Jon Clark
Jon Clark
2015-06-12T18:56:13+0000
These guys are the real deal! So nice and easy going but also very safety oriented. What a great group.
Dai Nagalingam
Dai Nagalingam
2015-06-08T16:17:20+0000
Jerry Thomas Anderson
Jerry Thomas Anderson
2015-06-08T11:35:09+0000
No one does it BETTER!!! Definitely the place to get Great instructions with a wonderful hands on attitude.
Jordan Puhek
Jordan Puhek
2015-06-07T22:57:56+0000
Broccoli Bozzolo
Broccoli Bozzolo
2015-06-07T22:37:56+0000
Will Chapman
Will Chapman
2015-06-06T09:30:11+0000
Next Reviews